PDA

View Full Version : Old Dogs...new tricks?

Kostas
12-17-2009, 07:52 AM
I'm a relatively new player to tennis. I started playing when I was about 30 and am now 32 and just got bumped to 3.5. I was likely going to get bumped prior to the massive sweep that USTA did this year anyways so I've made some progress.

I've worked with about half a dozen different "coaches" over the past two years or so - usually just one-off lessons but I've worked with the same coach repeatedly on a few occassions as well.

I've also seen these guys coach other players and groups and something seems to stick out to me. There's almost ZERO instruction on fundatmentals for the older students.

For the past two years developing fundamentals has been extremely important to me. Proper setup, stroke and follow-through. Now while I'm not an expert in technique I'm making improvements every time I go on the court and I feel that when I do everything properly I can look like a much better player that a lot of my 3.5 peers because the fundamentals are there. Again - this isn't always the case as I'm still inconsistent.

But my point is, for older people that are just starting out - why don't more coaches/instructors spend time trying to teach them some of the fundamental things like footwork, positioning and a decent takeback/swing/followthrough technique? All they basically do is feed balls and give them general 'tips'. It's like they are completely content allowing the students to develop their own level of consistency through strokes that just seem easiest to them.

I've spent a good deal of time on FYB (thanks Wil!) and shadow swinging in my house to practice what I feel is proper technique but these people are out there hacking at the ball and the instructors are perfectly fine with that.

Most of these students, regardless of age, are paying a decent amount of money for these "lessons" but aren't getting anywhere near their money's worth. Does anyone else have thoughts on this?

sureshs