PDA

View Full Version : why is flexibility so important?(besides injruy prevention)

nalbyvsfed
12-17-2009, 11:30 AM
Im relatively new to playing tennis, 1 year, i can beat players who play like 5-7 years. i've never had a coach, i trained myself with instructions on websites like FYB ( thanks Will). but i am not flexible at all. i cant even touch my toes if i bend over, and its not by a bit.

so my question is : besides preventing injury's, does flexiblity improve your game?

GuyClinch
12-17-2009, 11:39 AM
It can certainly help your serve - as a high level serve involves a twisting and torquing of the body to facilitate power prior to the swing..

nalbyvsfed
12-17-2009, 11:41 AM
It can certainly help your serve - as a high level serve involves a twisting and torquing of the body to facilitate power prior to the swing..

hmm ok thanks.

BMC9670
12-17-2009, 12:19 PM
It can also help increase speed and help you recover faster with less soreness.

mike53
12-17-2009, 01:15 PM
Im relatively new to playing tennis, 1 year, i can beat players who play like 5-7 years. i've never had a coach, i trained myself with instructions on websites like FYB ( thanks Will). but i am not flexible at all. i cant even touch my toes if i bend over, and its not by a bit.

so my question is : besides preventing injury's, does flexiblity improve your game?

Sure. Normal flexibility and range of motion in you knees, ankles, hips, back and shoulders has to help when hitting low shots, moving back and forth on the court and reaching for volleys at the net. Just to name a few.

A lot of people look at themselves as inflexible when all they need is a little practice.

lancernrg
12-17-2009, 01:51 PM
Im relatively new to playing tennis, 1 year, i can beat players who play like 5-7 years. i've never had a coach,

Wow...you sound like a arrogant piece of..

...anyway flexibility is overrated.

TheFuture101
12-17-2009, 02:00 PM