PDA

View Full Version : My first video - some ground strokes

Kostas
12-18-2009, 08:48 PM
Hey guys. Shot a video tonight and thought I'd share. Here some ground strokes.

I started playing tennis a little over two years ago and I've been working as hard as I can on my game. I take tennis very seriously and try to do my best to improve. I only get to play about once a week but sometimes I get multiple play days depending on my schedule.

I started USTA last summer in mixed as a 3.0 and I am a newly minted 3.5 going into 2010.

My hitting partner is a 5.5 woman (my sister-in-law) and she was varying her shots to me more like a 3.5 man would normally. When she bangs straight back to me I look much better ironically.

This was shot towards the end of the night so I was pretty wore out (I edited out the many frames of me bending over to catch my breath lol).

This is the first time I've seen myself on video in a while and overall I was happy with the progress I've made.

Things I already know:

My footwork on my forehand needs improvement. It's marginally better when I'm not so tired but my bad setup for my forehand causes me to constantly hit the ball in a jammed up position which doesn't allow me to hit through the ball. I need to get better at setting up my forehand so I'm not trying to muscle the ball with my elbow.

My backhand slice is without a doubt the worst shot I have. I've already made a commitment to improving this next year but it was bad all night (not just the one shot I hit).

My backhand looks and feels pretty good. When I have adequate time to setup it's my most reliable shot imo. I do struggle when someone puts pressure on my backhand and I don't have time to go through my whole swing motion.

Any other thoughts are more than welcome.

Thanks guys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OP-dDPxnLX0

J011yroger
12-19-2009, 04:50 AM
Nice vid, thanks for sharing it.

Darned good progress for 2 years in playing. Who is coaching you?