PDA

View Full Version : Doubles receiving rule


swing hard
12-19-2009, 10:41 AM
Just wanted to see if anyone else has any experience in the kind of receiving that I have played with. So the rule that I can find here is that the receiving team decides which side they play and then stick to that side.

http://www.**********.com/links/rules/rules.htm#R36

On the other hand, I have also played doubles where if X, Y and A, B were playing, with X serving, A will return the first serve and with Y serving, B will receive first. Essentially, there is a rotation that is carried out during the set on both ends.

Since I have not been able to find that rule on the internet, I am trying to see if anybody here knows of it.

Thanks

psp2
12-19-2009, 03:11 PM
#1... wrong section for the post. #2 Link doesn't work.

Basically in doubles, any one can serve first at the beginning of a new set (including a super tie breaker in lieu of 3rd set).

And, you can switch receiving position at the beginning of a new set, but you must remain in that position (ad side or deuce side) for the duration of that set.