PDA

View Full Version : Wow, Maxim touch does not fray!!!!

Mansewerz
12-20-2009, 05:55 PM
I've been glancing at my string bed lately, and I've noticed that the maxim touch hasn't frayed.

Okay, maybe it's been the lack of play, or maybe it's more durable than I thought.

I figured it would last me a while. As I just looked at the strings 10 mins ago, I saw that the mains are close to snapping in 2 places! One good return of serve and they're out of there!!!!

Here's my dilemma. I have a session tomorrow with my cousin and brother (both better than me and hit a heavier ball). I can either:

-Leave the strings as is
-Restring tonight with a Big ace/og micro hybrid
-Restring with just og micro

I've been wanting to try poly for a while, so I thought i'd try some big ace. But, i've never tried it before. And, this is my only AG100 (I know, I need a backup!!!!)

What do you guys think is best?

What tension should I try the big ace hybrid if I go that route? (If I do full gosen, i'll do like 51-52 lbs). I'm liking the Maxim touch at 54/52 right now.

colan5934
12-20-2009, 06:04 PM
When I used Maxim Touch it did not fray much. I used Big Ace Micro crosses and they cut right through it in 18 hours which at that time was very quick for me. It played very well, and I was able to hit the best drop shots I have ever hit, but I typically play with full polyester. To answer your question, I find that Maxim touch does not fray a whole lot, but it notches until it breaks. If you have some deep notching, I would restring, if not, you should be fine. Your cousin or your brother could borrow you a racket too right?

Mansewerz
12-20-2009, 06:12 PM