PDA

View Full Version : Increasing Racquet Head Speed

Freestyle
12-29-2009, 11:28 AM
Hi guys,

I need some help with racquet head speed, especially on my backhand and a bit on my serve. When I am first warming up, I usually restrict my shots, and limit the speed I swing. This is most noticeable on my backhand, on which I restrict the followthrough, reducing it to a bunt-like stroke. This causes errors, which in turn makes me restrict even more. Today, I hit through an entire set netting backhands and double faulting on about a quarter of my serves (I lost 6-1) before I realized my problems were due to racquet head speed. Once I started to pick up the pace and swing freely, I started playing better (I won the second set 6-4 and the third set 6-3). My question is, are there any ways to generate some serious speed? I do grip the racquet rather tightly, because my palm hangs off the butt of the handle. Is there any way to shore it up so I can loosen my grip?

Thanks for reading through that mess.

chess9
12-29-2009, 12:44 PM
How strong is your posterior shoulder? Upper back, teres minor, lats? Also, is your takeback long enough? Are you leading with the buttcap on the backhand? Do you hit with your right foot foreward (closed stance) for righties? This is a one handed backhand, I assume?

What I would do is use the ball machine and start hitting some balls. I've hit 1,000 backhands that way, just grooving the stroke. Also, I've videotaped my swing when it starts going South on me. Once you see the film, recover from the terminal case of wincing, and start analyzing, you will figure it out.

Just some ideas. If BungaloBill comes online, he'll straighten you out.

-Robert

Freestyle
12-29-2009, 01:23 PM
Thanks for the reply.