PDA

View Full Version : One or two hands

T1000
01-01-2010, 06:53 PM
So I'm 17 and I've been playing tennis for about 10 years, only 5 competitively. I was taught by James Blake's mom (not really important but a fun fact) and I was taught to hit a two hander. I never felt comfortable and I thought it was the only way to hit a backhand. I learned the one hand slice when I was 11 and used in most of the time in matches unless I was going for a winner. For the past 3 months I've been screwing around with a one hander in practice, I was never taught how to hit one or what grip to use. I think I'm using an eastern not sure. I find my backhand is more consistent, has better placement, and more power. It's easier to get topspin and drive it flat up the line. Is it possible that I just naturally have a one hand backhand and the two hander won't really work for me? I'm a serve and volley player so it helps the style I think. I'll try and get a video of me hitting the two different back hands and post them.

The other thing is I find it hard to hit the high ball. I'm not a big guy, about 6'1" and 135 lbs. Any tips about how to hit them. Taking them early is hard to do consistently and backing up takes me farther away from the net. I usually just slice it and keep it in play but my slice is being attacked. I thought one option would be to get the slice lower or farther back to make it harder to attack instead of taking it early or backing up. Thanks guys

Storm_Kyori
01-01-2010, 07:04 PM
Since you kinda know both, maybe you could use the 2hbh for high balls and then the 1hbh for rallying...might work.

Geezer Guy
01-01-2010, 07:07 PM