PDA

View Full Version : tough opponents!

dthomas
01-02-2010, 07:24 PM
I'm a 4.5 player, and I play these two guys who really make me earn every point. The one guy hits short slice backhands and moonball forehands. The other guy has a big forehand and hits short slice backhands. Also, he hits drop shots about twice a game. When I try to attack their backhands and approach the net, they hit these deep lobs over my head. They are very consistent players and they run me back and forth the entire match. I'm in good shape, but I don't know how to play against these kind of players. I'm more of a baseline player who likes to hit heavy topspin from both sides. I enjoy the challenge of playing these guys, but it is hard to play my style against them. I was wondering how do you play guys with this style?

ilikephobo
01-02-2010, 07:44 PM
not that i'm a doubles expert. but of course you gotta learn to serve and volley. place that serve and be ready to put away a weak return.....i hope you're talking about doubles, i wasn't too sure because you mentioned two guys but you never mentioned your partner.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gyqHjNzFeM

for inspiration =P

Roy125
01-02-2010, 08:04 PM
How far are you up to the net when you rush it? If you can, a low and skidding approach slice shot is difficult to lob.

dthomas
01-02-2010, 08:11 PM
I play them in singles. They are both very fit and run all day. I agree, I do need to work on better approach shots and on my overhead. I enjoy staying back and rallying from the baseline with my heavy topspin groundstrokes. I'm 6'2", so I need to get to the net and use my size.

Bagumbawalla
01-03-2010, 12:08 PM