PDA

View Full Version : Is it tendinitis or tendinosis?

Suezee
01-07-2010, 07:47 AM
I'm a physical therapist (and tennis player) with 20 years of clinical experience in the sports medicine setting, and have recently started to participate in some research on tendinopathy. At my age, I also have plenty of first-hand experience dealing with some of the aches and pains associated with our game. In my own profession, there is still some confusion on what is going on with tendon injuries, and I have seen similar questions posted in this forum. I would like to take this opportunity to share what I have learned so that you all will better understand your own injuries and can take an informed stance when you are trying to help yourself.

Inflammation of a tendon (tendinitis) can occur following an acute injury, which might even involve localized micro-tearing. In these cases, rest, bracing, ice, and medication helps, then you slowly get back to your prior training levels. Sometimes, that's the end of the story. Sometimes, however, it goes away for awhile, then the pain comes back. It is in these cases where we think a degenerative process is going on. (tendinosis) Following the original injury, the body tries to heal itself, but it does so in an inferior manner. The resulting repair or scar is not as strong as a normal, healthy tendon would be. This makes future injuries more likely. Imaging shows that you can get pockets of "fresh" inflammation, but the primary problem is degenerative. That's why anti-inflammatory treatments can help, but not always permanently.