PDA

View Full Version : running miles

itracbui3
01-11-2010, 05:56 PM
when you are running miles, do you keep your breathing short and quick or slow and long? because when i run, i do a 1/2 count breath in 1 and breath out 2 and it seems like i get alot of cramps while running

jswinf
01-11-2010, 08:45 PM
I'm no expert, but I think experts would say breathe when you need to breathe and don't worry too much about it. The more you get used to running a given number of miles, the more your breathing will be slower and longer while running.

chess9
01-12-2010, 03:49 AM
Don't think about breathing. If you are, you aren't running hard enough. ;)

Besides, you shouldn't be able to breathe while throwing up. ;)

And that breathing thing is soooo over-rated.

-Robert

armsty
01-12-2010, 04:01 AM
Kilometers is where it's at.

ScoopsHaaganDazs
01-12-2010, 06:58 PM
Don't breathe so quickly that you get cramps. Do what you feel is natural. I found out that I inhale twice, then exhale twice. The first one is short, while the second one is longer. I don't know why, but thats just how I breathe while running.

Funbun
01-13-2010, 07:39 PM
It depends on the intensity of the workout. Just do what's natural. If you can't handle a tough workout, build your base first with long but light aerobic runs. You can do mile repeats or tempos when you think you have a bigger base.

However, if you do happen to care about how you breathing rate during something a grueling workout, it's fine if you breath fast on track sprints and/or repeats.

If you get very terrible cramps, I recommend you stop running and just walk a bit. Let it subside, then keep running if you feel better. Don't stop yourself from achieving your running mileage because of a cramp. I recommend you also pay close attention to your posture. If you have poor posture, you limit your maximum oxygen intake, which tends to induce cramps. Run tall, yet relaxed.