PDA

View Full Version : Finger joints snap after playing tennis

giladbr
01-15-2010, 08:25 AM
Hello,

I'm 26. A few months ago I was playing tennis about 3 times a week for a continuous period of 4 months. I started having "snaps" or "clicks" in my ring finger and little finger in my right hand, with which I hold the racket (they were fine before I went back to playing regularly). It's nothing severe, it's just that before, when I folded these fingers, they used to fold smoothly, but after I started playing they started "snapping" into folded position and snapping back. The snapping was sometimes a bit painful, and was usually worse after a night's sleep.

Then for a few months I stopped playing, and it disappeared. Now I'm back to the court and it's starting to come back.
I checked my grip size and according to the "stick your pointing finger when you hold the racket" method and it's just fine in size. I know that I had a problem of gripping the racket too hard during the game, so now when I play I try to relax my fingers between rally to rally (let go of the racket, shake my palm, stretch my fingers etc.).

My question - what do you think about finger braces? From what I've read they're mainly for use after the game...
Is there anything else I can do/wear to relieve this?

Thanks

Gilad

10ACE
01-15-2010, 10:50 AM
Do you grip the racquet rather tightly? I get that in my wrist from time to time- Just think it's from the whipping motion of my forehand.

Take some Tylenol Arthritis- not because it's arthritis, because this version of Tylenol is the best.

I'd imagine taping your bad finger to a good finger would help- or just taping the joint somewhat- not too tight- would aid in the restriction of placing the joint into too much stress.

charliefedererer
01-16-2010, 08:59 PM
It sounds like you have developed "trigger fingers". (The proper medical term is "stenosing tenosynovitis", but even most doctors call it "trigger fingger",)