PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try Ashway Liberty 16?

tennis005
01-23-2010, 03:59 PM
If so, what are your opinions on the string.

ace0001a
01-23-2010, 04:32 PM
I've never tried it, but I wouldn't be surprised if it plays very similar to most standard synthetic guts out there...but here are a few reviews from TW customers:

Comments: The only thing this string is good for, is to learning how to string a racket. I swear to you from day one this is the worst string I have ever played. I have the luxury of being able to put fresh strings in my racket every day, and I would still yet not play these dirt cheap strings. It is not as simple a matter as changing the tension to your liking. As a racket technician I have tried Prince Synthetic Gut Duraflex, Prince Premier, Lightning, Tournament Poly, Head Pps, Sonic Pro, Gamma Esp, Luxilon Alu Power, and Gosen Og Sheep Micro..etc. Ashaway Liberty felt like I was playing with a fishing scoop net. I took swings at a ball expecting it to bite, spin, and jump over the net as usual. OR AT LEAST RESPOND, I got no response out of these strings whatsoever. Instead, the ball would hit my strings and fall to the net as if I barely had hit the ball at all. If you like to hit with any precision whatsoever, I recommend absolutely anything over plain nylon, which is what this is.

Comments: Strung my Babolat Aeropro drive cortex w/these at 58/56 and it broke on me that night within 3 hours of having it strung. I'm a heavy top-spinning 4.5 player and these strings looked really cool (in the lime green color) but the durability was awful.

Comments: This string is least durable string I've ever played with. I hit with it for about 2 and a half hours using my Head Microgel Extreme Pro at 58lbs tension, and the strings snapped by the end of my 3rd set. Too much movement of the strings. Not recommended to higher level players.