PDA

View Full Version : No Damper for Henin?

Tennissee
01-24-2010, 10:47 AM
I'm watching the Henin-Wickmayer match from 3 AM. (Don't tell me the results.) I can't help but notice that balls come off Henin's racquet with a ping. It appears that she's not using a damper. Has she always gone without a damper or am I just imagining things? Personally, I can't play without a damper. The ping just bothers me too much.

DrumWizOHBD
01-24-2010, 10:55 AM
I noticed her ping as well, comes through pretty loud on the TV. Strange that Federer also plays without a damper and you can't here the ping on TV. Maybe its her Power Holes in her custom frame. I remember those power hole racquets did give off a more pronounced ping than most other sticks. Its proablly because there is string on racuet contact without the protection of grommets at the points of the power holes.

This may sound a bit weird, maybe because I am a musician, but withou a damper I can tell by the sound how my timing is-how close I am striking the ball to the sweet spot. Having said that, I like the more muted feel of playing witha damper. So if my timing is off, I take the damper out, and fine tune my stroke with my ears....then put it back in when I get my timing just right.

Tennissee
01-24-2010, 11:04 AM
Wow, very interesting take on the ping. My younger son has perfect pitch. I wonder if he can tell if a racquet has lost tension and by how much just listening to people play, without a damper.

So Federer doesn't use a damper, either? Is it just the way they learned tennis? Do they prefer the "purer" feel and sound without a damper? Do most of the top layers not use a damper? Never thought about this before.

Aces09
01-24-2010, 11:24 AM