PDA

View Full Version : Sore rotator cuff

gatorbait01
01-29-2010, 11:19 AM
I've been playing tennis for about 5 yrs now. It seems as I've gotten better and increased my swing speed my rotator cuff is always sore after a match or hitting session. It gets sore from groundstrokes and not the serve. Is this normal? Most people I talk to don't think so.

It's really annoying to get a really sore arm the day after I play. I have been doing rotator cuff exercises pretty regularly, but the muscle soreness persists.

Any advice?

Sumo
01-29-2010, 11:26 AM
I hope you get some good responses.
I'm in the same boat you are.

charliefedererer
01-29-2010, 11:29 AM
Some soreness is to be expected.
Really sore? Not a good thing. Maybe you really should get checked out by a sports medicine orthopod with a special interest in shoulders. (Yes, medicine has gotten very specialized, and you would want to go to someone taking care of pitchers, quarterbacks and tennis players.)

You say you have "been doing rotator cuff exercises pretty regularly". Perhaps that needs to be changed to "religiously". Are you doing the thrower's ten? www.asmi.org/SportsMed/media/thrower10.swf

Are you quite sure there is not some flaw in your groundstroke technique that is causing/already caused an overuse abnormality?

Are you using a racquet that is not overly light and with a reasonable flex rating, and soft multifilament or natural gut strings?

BMC9670
01-29-2010, 11:31 AM
What are your racket specs? I got some bad advice when I got into tennis and used a light and headlight racket, which can lead to arm issues, especially when your strokes have improved to where your racket head speed is higher.

Head light is OK, but not in combination with a light racket. It's kind of like pitching with a whiffle ball - there is no weight behind it. Advanced players generally use heavy and head light rackets.

TW Staff
01-29-2010, 12:01 PM