PDA

View Full Version : Only 19 ft to string mains?


tennisINmyBLOOD
02-03-2010, 04:22 PM
I have a 19 ft set of Topspin Cyber Blue. The racket I plan to string calls for 20 ft mains (16x19 pattern, 100 sq. inch head). If I use a starting clamp as a bridge for the string that comes up short, would 19 ft be sufficient to string the mains?

Also, do you think 19 ft would be enough for a racket that calls for 21 ft mains if I use a starting clamp to act as a bridge? I really wanna put a set of Cyber Blue on my Dunlop AG 4D 300 Tour (18x20 pattern, 98 sq. in head)... but it seems that 19 feet would be insufficient, even if I extended the string.

JT_2eighty
02-03-2010, 04:32 PM
I have no idea, however, I recently strung my PT280 (18x20) which calls for 21' mains, with a set of Head Intellitour, using the recommended crosses (which according to the package were only 18') in my mains and it was just right.

So I guess my point is that although the manufacturer calls for 21', I could string an 18 main stick with and 18' length, so ultimately you'll just have to experiment unless someone else can tell you for sure, because I have no idea what your results may be with that particular stick.

BigT
02-03-2010, 04:55 PM
19' for a 16x19 pattern should be ok on that racquet.
for 18x20 probably not.

kmartin
02-03-2010, 05:07 PM
I have a 19 ft set of Topspin Cyber Blue. The racket I plan to string calls for 20 ft mains (16x19 pattern, 100 sq. inch head). If I use a starting clamp as a bridge for the string that comes up short, would 19 ft be sufficient to string the mains?

Also, do you think 19 ft would be enough for a racket that calls for 21 ft mains if I use a starting clamp to act as a bridge? I really wanna put a set of Cyber Blue on my Dunlop AG 4D 300 Tour (18x20 pattern, 98 sq. in head)... but it seems that 19 feet would be insufficient, even if I extended the string.

Thread the mains in the racquet without tension, and see if you are even close. That shouldn't take too long. Cyber Blue isn't the stretchiest poly out there, but it's probably better than average, so if it's in the ballpark you should be OK.

niketennispro
02-03-2010, 06:21 PM
well if it doesnt work for the mains u can always put it in the crosses :)

iplaybetter
02-03-2010, 07:26 PM
yes 19 ft should be plenty to do the mains
i say should so dont crucify me if you try and it doesn't work

Standupnfall
02-03-2010, 07:54 PM
USRSA guide specifies 21' for your mains

iplaybetter
02-03-2010, 08:06 PM
USRSA guide specifies 21' for your mains

those specs are a bit lax, its worth a try if you ask me
the book is not the only right in the world...

Standupnfall
02-03-2010, 08:19 PM
Agreed, but Its only fair I share the info available to me.

origmarm
02-04-2010, 01:56 AM
Recently did an AG200 18*20 with 20ft (half of a champion choice pack) in the mains and just made the gripper without having to use the starting clamp. After knotting I only had about 2 inches of string on each side left. I would imagine if you bridge you should *just* be ok with 19ft but it's going to be mightly close.

Same experience with a Prestige MP recently.

Let us know...

Cheers, Orig

ronalditop
02-04-2010, 07:47 AM
Anybody knows why is it that according to this site http://www.klipperusa.com/stringing/manufacturers.php a MGPMP needs 39' of string, while a MGRMP, which has the same headsize and string pattern, needs only 37' ?

Lambsscroll
02-04-2010, 07:52 AM
Easily. How many times can you measure from the bumper guard to the throat grommet? If you can do this 18 times you have enough string.

iplaybetter
02-04-2010, 09:18 AM
Agreed, but Its only fair I share the info available to me.

i agree, i just dont want the OP to think that the book is the only way as some people have in the past

SteveI
02-04-2010, 09:24 AM
I have a 19 ft set of Topspin Cyber Blue. The racket I plan to string calls for 20 ft mains (16x19 pattern, 100 sq. inch head). If I use a starting clamp as a bridge for the string that comes up short, would 19 ft be sufficient to string the mains?

Also, do you think 19 ft would be enough for a racket that calls for 21 ft mains if I use a starting clamp to act as a bridge? I really wanna put a set of Cyber Blue on my Dunlop AG 4D 300 Tour (18x20 pattern, 98 sq. in head)... but it seems that 19 feet would be insufficient, even if I extended the string.

I just did a MFil 400 (100 Head 16 x 19). Used 20 feet.. had about 3 left.. I am guessing 18 will do the trick.

The 300 Tour will be very tight at 19 feet.

SteveI
02-04-2010, 09:25 AM
Anybody knows why is it that according to this site http://www.klipperusa.com/stringing/manufacturers.php a MGPMP needs 39' of string, while a MGRMP, which has the same headsize and string pattern, needs only 37' ?


The Klipper Site is not all that accurate at times..

ronalditop
02-04-2010, 10:06 AM
The Klipper Site is not all that accurate at times..

Is there any other site more accurate than the Klipper one? I need to know how much string to use on a MGPMP and also on a Dunlop MFil 400.

SteveI
02-04-2010, 10:35 AM
Is there any other site more accurate than the Klipper one? I need to know how much string to use on a MGPMP and also on a Dunlop MFil 400.

Hi,

Try Heads site and Dunlops

Steve

Steve Huff
02-04-2010, 12:53 PM
Just string it. If you get to the end of the mains and it's not enough, tie them off. Use a longer piece of string to do the side 2 mains and all the crosses. It's not difficult and you wouldn't be able to tell the difference in play.

beststringer
02-04-2010, 01:09 PM
I have a 19 ft set of Topspin Cyber Blue. The racket I plan to string calls for 20 ft mains (16x19 pattern, 100 sq. inch head). If I use a starting clamp as a bridge for the string that comes up short, would 19 ft be sufficient to string the mains?

Also, do you think 19 ft would be enough for a racket that calls for 21 ft mains if I use a starting clamp to act as a bridge? I really wanna put a set of Cyber Blue on my Dunlop AG 4D 300 Tour (18x20 pattern, 98 sq. in head)... but it seems that 19 feet would be insufficient, even if I extended the string.

it can work. try it.

origmarm
02-04-2010, 01:21 PM
Anybody knows why is it that according to this site http://www.klipperusa.com/stringing/manufacturers.php a MGPMP needs 39' of string, while a MGRMP, which has the same headsize and string pattern, needs only 37' ?

I would say both need 39 in theory but you can get away with 38. 37 I would think would be tight for two piece.

tennisINmyBLOOD
02-04-2010, 05:12 PM
Thanks everyone. I'll try stringing it through without tensioning to see if it makes it on my 300 Tour.

I sold a 19-ft set of Cyber Blue to my friend and will be stringing his PD. Should be enough... last time I strung his racket, I had a foot left over on each side of the mains.