PDA

View Full Version : Question on Golfer's Elbow

dancemyth
02-04-2010, 07:08 AM
I started playing again after LONG hiatus and shoulder surgery. Being the type-A impatient person I am, I'm serving and hitting pretty much as hard as I can. I'm experiencing elbow pain for the first time - it seems to be triggered mostly by serving and whip forehands. From what I've read, this sounds like golfer's elbow.

If I hold my arm out straight with the palm up (thumb to the outside), the pain is on the top, but on the outside (thumb-side) of my elbow. When I look at diagrams of golfer's elbow, they all seem to show the tendonitis on the inside (pinkie-side) of the arm. Do I have golfer's elbow? I'm pretty sure this is not tennis elbow, since it's not on the bottom (pointy-end) of the elbow, and backhands don't hurt.

Should I follow a golfer's elbow rehab routine? (reverse tyler twist, ball-squeezing, wrist curls, etc.). I've been playing with a hybrid, polys on the mains strung pretty tight, so I'll also try switching out the polys and lowering the tension (although this will no doubt screw up my game.)

Any other suggestions? Thxs.

mike53
02-04-2010, 07:39 AM
Yeah, I also got a golfers elbow type of injury from a whip forehand movement. I would definitely recommend following a GE rehab/prehab routine, wearing a compression band during any exercise, and icing after strenuous activity.

My theory is that much of my problem came from hitting balls above the middle line in the stringbed. I have added lead at 10:00 and 2:00 trying to move the sweet spot a little higher and I am hoping that this will help.

kslick
02-04-2010, 08:23 AM
GE is on the inside of the elbow. So palm up, that would make the small pointy bone closes to the body GE. Outside further from the body TE. Man taking a hiatus and shoulder surgery and coming back playing poly at a high tension = ouch!!

mikeler
02-04-2010, 09:19 AM