PDA

View Full Version : What will it take to get me bumped up?

johndagolfer
02-05-2010, 03:27 PM
This is my first year in USTA and I self rated at a 3.5.

My biggest issue is that I have a permanent disability in my arthitic ankles.

Solely based on my strokes though, my captain has placed me at singles. I am losing weight a lot, and my mobility is getting a little better, but in all honesty as my first year back in 13 years I would really like to play another "competitive" year in 3.5 next year(I was one of the last players to join my league and a lot of my teammates are 3.0's who are playing up).

If I am playing 2nd singles or even first and go say 4 and 7 is that a bump up?
Where do you think the cutoff is?

Cindysphinx
02-06-2010, 07:30 AM
There is no way to know. It depends on the rating of your opponents. And your rating is determined not by whether you win or lose but by the game score in each match.

Go enjoy yourself, fight hard for every point, and have fun.

And if your ankles start bothering you, tell your captain you have to play doubles. It's not worth it.

johndagolfer
02-06-2010, 07:45 AM
Wow really? It's not by win or loss record it's by set score? I played this guy who has a 100mph+ serve easily yesterday and lost 6 - 2, 7 - 6. It was a great match that could have gone either way in the 2nd set.

If he gets bumped up easily that means my good showing counts toward my possible bump up?

LeeD
02-06-2010, 07:53 AM
Easiest way is get to the finals of a big draw C or 3.5 tourney, then ask the organizer to bump you up. If he was there, and saw you play, it might work.
I got to the finals of my first C, lost badly, didn't ask to be bumped, and next C, the SanFranciscoCity, won the C's and they accused me of cherrypicking. They bumped. But I didn't play any tourneys in between, choosing instead to practice and work on my game.

Cindysphinx
02-06-2010, 07:54 AM