PDA

View Full Version : Playing with better players

newbieat39
02-11-2010, 07:34 PM
I am new to tennis, started in July. I regularly go to a clinic with 3.0-3.5 ladies and hit well (not the best, not the worst) Accidently I went to a 3.5 and up clinic. It was clear that everyone was better than me but I hit as hard/well as I could and for the most I lost the team point as often as someone else did, but I could not hit "winners" like I could in the other clinic. My question to you experienced players is do you mind someone like me coming to the clinic, everyone was nice, not as cheerfull as the other but I did not get any mean looks...lol I want to get better and think playing with these guys will help me but dont want to be where I dont belong.

Ripper014
02-11-2010, 07:51 PM
Clinics are just practice sessions for the most part... and as long as you don't bring down the level of play I don't think anyone cares. Just be quiet, humble and work hard... no one wants to hear why you missed a shot or you berate yourself.

But in saying that you would probably learn just as much from a 3.0-3.5 clinic which may cater to more of what you need.

Tennis is like building a house don't be in such a hurry to get the second floor up... it is important to have a solid foundation to build from. If you start with a solid foundation you can build a whole highrise.

And good luck with your tennis future... wherever it takes you.

HitItHarder
02-12-2010, 07:46 AM