PDA

View Full Version : hope this isn't Tennis Elbow

ProgressoR
02-16-2010, 12:56 PM
I started playing 3 months ago. 1hBH was useless. Had lessons from last week. Had 6 lessons in about 10 days. Hitting 2-300 balls mainly on TSpin. I have a full stroke with long take back and follow through. Eastern BH grip. Big low to high action lots of TSpin. Outside of elbow is painful. Hurts sometimes lifting a book. Its bearable but not nice.

Could this just be fron overworking muscles I didn't use before? Or should I assume its TE?

Have heard reference to elbowing the bh but what does this mean?

I was using multi string at 60lbs now have poly at 58 but pain began with multi.

I cannot play for 5 days anyway so will see if it helps not playing.

So could this be just weak muscles not used to the load?

Appreciate advice. Would hate to have TE after just developing a passion for tennis.

Thanks

yemenmocha
02-16-2010, 01:15 PM
Describe the feel of the pain and be more precise about the location. Sounds like TE from initial comments.

Rest, ice it, maybe some ibuprofen, and ease back into it once the pain goes away.

Whether it is TE or just muscle soreness, it sounds like an overuse injury.

athiker
02-16-2010, 01:21 PM
Does the outside of your elbow hurt when you try to grip something firmly....even something like a firm handshake? The spot is outside elbow just in front of bony area...there is kind of a pocket there.

I think what you refer to by elbowing a bh is either hitting with too flexed an arm...try to get it straight by contact...or hitting a bh late so that again your arm is bent and you are using elbow to bring the ball around via straightening your arm...thus putting a lot of stress on the forearm tendon muscle at your elbow.