PDA

View Full Version : What Racquet do you think I should get based on my skill and measurements?

muscl3s
05-01-2005, 12:09 PM
I'm 24 years old and I just started playing Tennis recently. I've just been using some cheap WalMart special racquet and I want to start using a good one. Even though I've just started playing I'd say I'm a 3.0 - 3.5 player already. I'm very athletic and I'm stocky. Throughout highschool and college I've played mostly football and basketball. I'm 6' 0", 215 lbs, and muscular. I work out in the gym often. As for my tennis game I'm an all around, all court player. In the future I plan on joining leagues and tournaments.

After doing a lot of reading on racquet specs I'm confident that I'd be best suited for a MP headsize (95-98). As for all the other specs I have no idea. I know it's best to demo a bunch of racquets but due to my inexperieance and unfamiliarity I would like to have some recommendations first . I'd rather demo just a couple of racquets based on your recommendations instead of trying to aimlessly demo dozens of racquets. So now based on my measurements and athleticism what racquet(s) would you recommend me looking into and getting?

I really appreciate all feedback.

eLterrible
05-01-2005, 12:15 PM
Just go for a racquet that focuses on control and spin, because by the looks of it, u can generate your own power.

nViATi
05-01-2005, 12:20 PM
try the Head Liquidmetal Prestige MP

montx
05-01-2005, 01:53 PM
From my understanding having gone through a lot of research recently, you probably want your racquet to have some weight for stability. Your a big man so you should be able to weild quite an axe. Then you might have other preferences like headsize, swingweight, stiffness etc...I would look up some of the racquet reviews done by TW and some of the customer feedback. The reviews I find most helpful, though I didn't pay attention upon purchasing my last racquet, rather didn't have enough time to do so.

Gaines Hillix