PDA

View Full Version : 2010 USTA National Campus Championship

allez_mike
03-09-2010, 08:35 AM
Anyone going to be there in Surprise, Arizona on April 14-17? It's the official club tennis Nationals tournament...should be a blast!

ssgator80
03-09-2010, 01:26 PM
Mike, do you play for a team? That does sound like a lot of fun. If only I could do it over again. I'm 48 and went to UF in the mid 80's.

10isDad
03-09-2010, 02:52 PM
For those that are there, just a notice: there is going to be an exhibition match on April the 15th at the Village Racquet Club (44th & Camelback in Phoenix (about an hour from Surprise)) between Andrei Pavel and John McEnroe.

Think about making the trip, enjoying some great tennis and catching a good meal a couple miles south at TeePee - awesome Mexican food.

allez_mike
03-09-2010, 06:07 PM
Hey guys! Yes, gator, I'll be making the trip from Indiana University, and this is my first year playing club. So far it's been fun, and the opportunity to go to Nationals is huge! Your Gators are going to be there too, along with 63 other teams--including us.

10isdad, thanks for the heads up, that sounds awesome! I've always wanted to see the legend Johnny Mac in person...and mexican food sounds amazing too

ssgator80
03-10-2010, 02:39 AM
Mike, how many from your school will be making the trip? What is the format - Is it the same as regular college tennis - 6 singles/3 doubles? What year are you in school?

Who Dey Nation
03-10-2010, 08:11 AM
Its World team tennis.....

So one mens singles one womens singles
one mens doubles and one womens doubles
And everyone's favorite Mixed

Up to 8 players per team with a minimum of 4

Most teams have one or two 5.0 mens players with some even being around 5.5 (old college players that are going to grad school, top 18 and unders that didn't play college)

Its Also biased off games, so if you can get more that one break and win 2,1, or 0 its a HUGE help to your team.