PDA

View Full Version : Recommended strings for a basic 3.0 player?

drewski
03-18-2010, 04:27 PM
I am an beginner/intermediate, 3.0 rated player and looking for a no nonsense string that won't hurt my arm and gives plenty of pop. I was thinking of stringing my Volkl V1 classic with Prince Original Synthetic Gut 17 at about a 55 or 54 tension level (I'm not quite a huge power hitter yet). With all the choices out there, it's rather confusing. But the Prince Original Synthetic Gut 17 seems to get fairly decent overall reviews. Any recommendations on other potential options to consider? Thanks.

Nanshiki
03-18-2010, 04:40 PM
Prince Synthetic Gut with Duraflex, or Original. You cannot go wrong with Prince synthetic gut.

Don't pay more than $20 for it, though!

Valjean
03-18-2010, 04:56 PM
You don't get a lot of pop from a standard synthetic gut, though. Wilson's Extreme Synthetic Gut has more than some.

I'd actually have you try Alpha Gut 2000, their long-standing, inexpensive multifilament--though you haven't said if you'd order in any new string or just choose from the selection available through your local retailer.

drewski
03-18-2010, 05:29 PM
how about Gosen Og-sheep micro?

tennis005
03-18-2010, 06:22 PM
Og Micro is a great synthetic.

flashfire276
03-18-2010, 08:15 PM
OG Sheep Micro is a great bargain string.

ManuGinobili
03-18-2010, 09:13 PM
I think good syn guts like PSG and Gosen will give you good options. But keep in mind that they break earlier than other strings, and the more you have to bring them to the shop the more you have to pay for stringing labor. So maybe hybrid it up with a cheap poly? A Cyberflash main and either of these cross combination has worked for many people on this board.

jmjmkim
03-18-2010, 09:20 PM
You can use any string that you like. Try different ones out.

decades
03-18-2010, 10:18 PM
maybe tf multifeel or yonex super tour 850

Al1978
03-18-2010, 10:29 PM