PDA

View Full Version : Stringing Mistake?

Heroesque
03-20-2010, 01:39 PM
I just got my racquet strung with a different stringer. When I got my racquet back, I noticed there was excessive vibration, and an abnormal noise when making contact with the ball. I just thought it was a bad string, quite suprised because SPPP is good..

Later, I noticed that the mains, when crossing the bottom two crosses, went over both. I'm not a stringing expert, but it's supposed to alternate every time, right?
Is it different for a 16x20 racquet or something? (It is a Wilson KPro Tour, if it matters).

mikeler
03-20-2010, 01:57 PM
Strings should always alternate in either direction. It is a misweave and should not have happened. Given the location you described, I'm surprised it would have any effect on the feel.

Tennis_Crazed
03-20-2010, 03:17 PM
You could probably get the stringer to redo your stick for free.

IrishFan
03-20-2010, 03:30 PM
There is no way the mis-weave can cause a rattle. While its true that any professional stringer will restring your racquet for free, you should look elsewhere for the cause of the rattle

marosmith
03-20-2010, 03:32 PM
a little piece of string may be caught in the frame. it happens often

Steve Huff
03-20-2010, 08:59 PM
Often??? I've never seen a piece of string caught up in the frame, and I string a lot. A broken grommet maybe. Is that what you meant?

Heroesque
03-21-2010, 07:16 AM
What do you mean caught in the string?

I don't mean rattle. It's just excessive vibration and an odd sound on contact. I'll ask the stringer next time

jim e
03-21-2010, 08:08 AM
If the bottom two cross strings are not alternated but the same weave as you say, that possibly could cause an excessive vibration as the last cross would be not held in tighter from an adjacent off set weave , also since there is an obvious mistake, and a vibration, most likely that is the problem, as two different problems at same time would be less of a chance.