PDA

View Full Version : String GURUS please help me find right TENSION!!!

monkeyisland90
03-23-2010, 03:16 PM
So i've tried lot of different tensions and I don't know which ones right because i'm not very good with physics.. I hit very well when it's a certain tension but seems like tension drops very quickly because i do full racquet head swing most of my shots. So here's my history i've kind of recorded in my head so not very accurate but hopefully it gives an idea what i should be at.. (using a wilson hammer 6.3 55-65lb recommended range)

1. 52lbs after 20 minutes balls start sinking shorter and lose its "pop"
thought it was because tension was too tight since it's hitting short

2. So dropped the tension all the way to 40lbs (for experimenting purpose) and after 10 minutes or so same sinking shorter and losing its "pop" deal.

3. So i put tension that low because i thought that lower the tension more power it gives while higher tension is more control... but i was thinking to myself there's probally why there is recommended tension range.. as anything below will just lose it's pop despite lower tension having more power..

4. So i put tension at 60lbs and i was able to hit very well and have fun for about 40 minutes then started the same sinking shorter and losing its "pop" deal.

Does that mean i should string it much higher so that the initial tension will drop and then gradually lose it's tension but I'll be more consistent throughtout the match....

Its a bummer that it loses that much tension per match... which means i'll have to restring almost every match with possible 2-3 racquets to exchange...

DownTheLine
03-23-2010, 03:23 PM
What string are you using? The way it sounds the lower you go the faster you lose the "pop". Which if that's true go higher.

Again what string are you using?

monkeyisland90
03-23-2010, 04:32 PM
What string are you using? The way it sounds the lower you go the faster you lose the "pop". Which if that's true go higher.