PDA

View Full Version : stringing

monkeyisland90
03-24-2010, 09:56 PM
I've been stringing for about 2-3 years now and probally did hundred racquets as i break strings a lot... and i'm pretty sure i do it correctly as shown in various guides etc.. but is stringing really an "art form" and need to be precise? I ask this because i purchased a automated pull machine used that was actually used in a nasdaq tournament but the calibration was off so i asked the manufacture in australia about how to calibrate this via email and he got really defensive like stringing is an art form and if you dont' know how to do it you souldn't and seem like you needed to be a professional to string... After that i always felt like i was doing something wrong stringing..... so my question is... is stringing yourself pretty much same as let say someone doing it for the pros? Or is it really an art form and takes lot of talent and skill...

beernutz
03-25-2010, 12:45 AM
What manufacturer told you this?

monkeyisland90
03-25-2010, 07:33 AM
it was an australian company... forgot the name... but machine was used in nasdaq and although most of comments were helpful it seemed like only "pros" should be stringing.

uk_skippy
03-25-2010, 12:51 PM
To be honest, stringing machines should be checked whenever they're moved or transported. They are likely to have been 'out' when you received it. In fact tournament machines should be checked often when they're at the tournament. The Babolat machines used to be checked first thing every morning.

If you found your machine was 'out' then I think its only fair that you find out how to calibrate the machine. The supplier may feel a bit p!ssed thinking that you were querying the calibration of the machine at the tournament, rather than to help you.

Bit of a poor show really, but kudos to you to for being professional enough to make sure your machine is in proper order.

Regards

Paul

coyfish
03-25-2010, 01:45 PM