PDA

View Full Version : Newbies and tension

mb73
04-26-2010, 11:12 AM
This is my first post here. I still consider myself new to the game, although I am learning a great deal thanks to your contributions on message boards such as this one.

One interesting observation that I've made is that people here tend to encourage the newbies to string their rackets toward the high end of a frame's recommended tension limits. This really slowed down my progress when I started playing in my opinion, because I had difficulty both in getting the "feel" for the sweet spot and generating spin. Upon reading here that many of you use a much lower tension than the 62 pounds I was using, I thought I'd give it a try. After all, I had access to a stringing machine. Lo and behold my game immediately began to take shape. I quickly began to develop a feel for the ball and learned to apply good topspin to my groundstrokes. I firmly believe using a racket strung so tightly it felt like a piece of plywood was impeding my ability to learn what a good shot feels like. I still have a lot to learn, being a 3.5 player, but I would never advise anyone to start off with a high tension string job.

Any thoughts on this?

mb73
04-26-2010, 11:14 AM
I meant to say that people here (as in where I live) tend to encourage newbies to string tight...

Centered
04-26-2010, 11:45 AM
Some players play well with low tension. Some play well with high. Some play well with moderate tension.

I know a coach who wants everyone to string at a very low tension with poly. Some can't adjust their game to it, but it works for him. I play better with a higher tension because I use powerful thin strings and hit flat.

It also comes down to the type of string and the string pattern. Denser string patterns often benefit from lower tensions, while more "open" string patterns can become wild at lower tensions.

mb73
04-26-2010, 12:24 PM