PDA

View Full Version : Trouble tying off the last cross

NotEvenSemiPro
04-27-2010, 03:52 PM
I'm new to racket stringing - this is just my second string job - and I'm having trouble threading the string from the last cross back through a grommet so that I can tie it off.

The racket, a Wilson US Open, was (the 6.1 of wal-mart) was previously done with 1 string, I'm using the 2 string method. 16x19 string pattern.

I gone so far as to unstring the last few rows of crosses and so I could ream out/widen a cross grommet. For this I used an awl, then a nail set.

I may just be stuck, but if anyone's got some thoughts, tips or tricks, I sure could use them.

Lakers4Life
04-27-2010, 04:07 PM
Cheap rackets like that were not meant to be strung in a two piece pattern. More or less it's not worth stringing after the string breaks. The string may be worth more than the racket.

I've run into that problem in the past with older rackets. You have to either widen another grommet to tie off to or tie the end off a main tie off (double knot).

NotEvenSemiPro
04-27-2010, 04:27 PM
"More or less it's not worth stringing after the string breaks."

No worries on that; $40 racket, stringing with head synthetic gut I got on sale for $2.50. It's my girl's racket, she's happy with it, and not exactly a tennis fanatic. It's not terrible, honestly, apart from being head heavy, and I was curious what it would be like with new strings.

2 questions about what you said. 1) How do you widen your grommets? I'm not having much success with the awl, while the grommet is still in the frame. 2) I can't really visualize what you mean by tie off a main tie off.

Lakers4Life
04-27-2010, 04:35 PM
"More or less it's not worth stringing after the string breaks."