PDA

View Full Version : Stringing for a Pro Event...

MasturB
04-29-2010, 08:51 AM
I'm stringing for a Challenger Event this week... first time doing serious stringing (I work at a Pro-Shop where all the old people buy NXT and Sensation, but I string polys for myself and the juniors).

I'm kinda nervous. I've been stringing for 4 months now, but I've gotten it down to about 20 minutes with no distractions. However I'll be stringing for pros now and I'm just praying I don't screw up.

Anybody have any tips on how I should go about it? :twisted:

David123
04-29-2010, 09:00 AM
I can make a comparison to you although its a bit different. I posted a thread in the stringing machine sections asking if people were nervous the first time they strung for a customer. I guess your deal is a bit greater in the aspect that you're stringing for pros while i am waiting to string for my first few customers. I guess when you first start you're going to be nervous. However, if you're a good stringer then you won't get any complaints. After you get the few rackets done, in my opinion, the fear will not exist anymore.

Lambsscroll
04-29-2010, 09:04 AM
Stay sharp.

Standupnfall
04-29-2010, 09:08 AM
There is no reason to be nervous if you have mastered your equipment and the fundamentals.

drakulie
04-29-2010, 09:26 AM
MaturB, Congrats!!

Will you be stringing by yourself or will you have a help??? At an event like that, you could end up getting a few hundred frames in the first few days depending on the size.

Make sure to check and/or calibrate the machine you will be using each morning. Clean the machine, clamps, rails at the end of each day.

Get rest, and prepare mentally. Stringing for these events could be brutal on the fingers and feet. :)

You'll find that most will want their frames strung with full beds of poly.

Also, if you have a stringers digest, take one with you. You never know if you are going to get a frame with a weird pattern.

Good luck, and keep us updated.

gflyer