PDA

View Full Version : My success overcoming chronic tennis-elbow. (longish)

hifi heretic
04-15-2004, 10:03 AM
let me preface the following by pointing out that I am not a doctor!!! I'm simply relating my experience and knowledge accumulated from reading and discussions with my doctor.

My tennis-elbow saga:

Over the past 6 years I have battled persistent tennis elbow. My left elbow developed T.E. as a result of golf (probably too much hitting off of plastic mats!) and was chronic enough to require surgical repair (after countless cortisone shots, re-hab, etc.). Two years ago (as my left elbow was healing from surgery) I got back into tennis and almost immediately developed TE in my right elbow. After swithching to a heavier "players" racquet, having a pro check my form (no obvious problems discovered), perpetual icing-down, ibuprofen, alleve, and finally a cortisone shot, I still was not getting any relief and was fearful that I was heading for yet more surgery.

Finally, my orthopedic surgeon (the one who fixed my left elbow!) referred me to a new physician in their practice (Bryn Mawr Orthopedic Associates) who was a very strong advocate of something called Prolotherapy.