PDA

View Full Version : need a new baseline racket for clay

spanish fly
05-14-2005, 04:30 AM
hey,
as mentioned in the title, i need a new baseline stick. basically my whole game consists of powerful strokes, it's an aggressive type of game i'd say....
i only move to the net if it's really necessary to make the point!
i have been playin tennis constantly for 13 years now and i am an instructor with a licence.

any suggestions on a racket????

thx in advance

rulik
05-14-2005, 09:07 PM
I haven't been playing tennis for so long but more than a half of yours. If you use 1HBH you can try ncode 90' then experiment which strings and tension will be better for you. The racquet is not perfect but it has everything what needed. I couln't find better racquet on the market.

My set up is ncode 90'/Gosen OG Sheep Micro 16'/58lb

SC in MA
05-15-2005, 05:54 AM
I found the nCode61 95 (16x18) to be an excellent clay court racket, as well as an excellent all-court singles racket. It has a good combination of power/mass/manuverability/control/spin. It hits great groundstrokes and serves (and volleys as well). On clay, I add a just a little bit of lead at the 3 & 9 PWS to make groundstrokes a little bit heavier.

In the past, I tried the 2001 version of the Bab. Pure Control (the heavier one) for about 6 months. Groundstrokes had a bit more on them than the n61, but it wasn't as good on stretch shots. Overall, I play better with the n61, so that's what I use as my main clay court racket.

deflori
05-15-2005, 06:03 AM
head flexpoint tour
prince o3 tour
head instinct/tour
babolat pure storm

All of them are great for the Baseline

safin_protege
05-15-2005, 07:56 AM
Any type of Head Prestige or Wilson Tour 90 racquets are great from the baseline, but the new Prince O3 tour is supposed to be exceptional for clay...great spin, control, and decent power.

Rafa Nadal
05-15-2005, 08:28 AM
Babolat Aeropro Drive, when you hit with Spin its great very great from the Baseline

SC in MA