PDA

View Full Version : French Open Friday: We need to take down NBC

Brian Purdie
05-23-2010, 01:56 PM
French Open Friday is a personal holiday I created and you may partake in the festivities wherever you may find yourself. I've been celebrating in some capacity since 1991 when I watched Agassi's semi on NBC (not realizing it was taped of course). Grab yourself an Orangina, a few croissants, and watch yourself some tennis in the morning, then break out the gear and hit your local clay court that afternoon for a some fun afterward.

As many of you may remember, French Open Friday was a worse than usual abomination from NBC last year. We in the US were forced to watch a TAPED Soderling semi, rather than the thrilling Del Potro-Federer 5 set match. It even provoked a few news articles:

http://sports.yahoo.com/tennis/blog/busted_racquet/post/As-usual-NBC-blacks-out-a-thrilling-French-Open?urn=ten,168381

http://www.sportsbusinessdaily.com/article/131455

, but again reminded us how disappointing the self-proclaimed "Olympic network" really is.

Yes, we can always watch it live on internet streaming on a 5 inch screen with interrupted connection, but there has to be a better solution.

So we have Direct TV covering alot of matches this year. Will they be covering it, or does NBC have the monopoly on the tv rights to the semi's again? If so, we have about 10 days to convince these people to show us a live match.

Any suggestions? Facebook campaign a la Betty White? The A-Team?

Serendipitous
05-23-2010, 01:59 PM
http://threadbombing.com/data/media/45/hama0.jpg

Mortifier
05-23-2010, 02:34 PM
On a different but still related matter:

Eurosport went on to show the Kubot/Oanna-match today because the "large quantity of Polish fans". In the meantime Gulbis was getting ousted and Tsonga had to win a 5-set epic, while we were watching a total snooze-fest.

Say 'Hi' to the worst tv-coverage ever.

HunterST
05-23-2010, 02:35 PM