PDA

View Full Version : Department of Engineering for making Tennis Rackets?

Yenster
06-08-2010, 11:27 PM
Hey there,

I was just thinking of my future as I'm a sophomore in high school right now. I was thinking of applying to Cal Polytechnic San Luis Obispo, which has a terrific engineering program. I meet the requirements already and then some so I think I have a good chance of getting in. As you might have guessed, I wish to major in engineering, probably mechanical engineering. But then I was thinking, what if I can combine my love of tennis and my (soon to be?) love of engineering? Also, I have always been fascinated by racket technology.

So what I'm asking for is, what department of engineering does making tennis rackets go under? I was thinking probably material sciences engineering (but then that requires chemistry...)

And I wanna go to San Luis Obispo to get a job at TW and become the future owner :twisted:

Yenster
06-08-2010, 11:34 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cal_Poly_San_Luis_Obispo_College_of_Engineering

Just scroll down to the Department section for more info.

SystemicAnomaly
06-09-2010, 02:18 AM
Materials (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Materials_Engineering) Science (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Materials_Engineering) (Materials Engineering) sounds like the way to go. However, if (applied) physics and chemistry are not your cup of tea, then maybe you should reconsider. Cal Poly SLO is a great place to get an education. Gotta love the college town atmosphere as well. (I went there in the early 80s and my niece is graduating from there at the end of this week).

mikeler
06-09-2010, 04:13 AM
If you have two loves that you want to do for the rest of your life, don't let chemistry scare you away. Trying to remember back to my college days, but I'm pretty sure all engineering majors had to take a minimum of 2 semesters of chemistry.

El Diablo
06-09-2010, 04:51 AM