PDA

View Full Version : world cup coaches

markmdfw
06-20-2010, 12:28 PM
Wow, So many coaches are not from where they are coaching from! I am new to watching soccer I think I watched alot of the last world cup but still new to soccer. Its quite addicting!

What do you guys think about the Hired guns for coaches?

Marcus

coyfish
06-20-2010, 01:05 PM
Well coaching isn't like playing. Coaches gain experience by training lots of players which isn't always possible in countries lacking quality soccer programs. Just like many players play in leagues outside their native countries.

I think good coaches allow the players to make the most of their opportunity.

I think its great that the vast majority of players are actually from their representative countries which is the important thing imo.

West Coast Ace
06-20-2010, 01:26 PM
What do you guys think about the Hired guns for coaches?Not surprising in the developing countries. They need the experience and are willing to deal with the language difficulties.

But I am shocked that England would have a non-Brit. You'd think they'd have a homegrown guy who could do the job. Too much pressure; not worth the ordeal?

Legend of Borg
06-20-2010, 01:51 PM
If England does not deliver against Slovenia (and it doesn't look like they will) then Capello's head will roll over this. Worst WC performance by England in a while.

Feņa14
06-20-2010, 01:53 PM
Not surprising in the developing countries. They need the experience and are willing to deal with the language difficulties.

But I am shocked that England would have a non-Brit. You'd think they'd have a homegrown guy who could do the job. Too much pressure; not worth the ordeal?

Nah, we don't have too many good home grown coaches.

Having said that, it looks like Roy Hodgson could possibly take over when Capello leaves in the next week or so, although it's possible he's already signed on with Liverpool.

rovex
06-20-2010, 01:57 PM