PDA

View Full Version : How long does it take to get good at piano?

rice&tennis
06-26-2010, 04:10 PM
I'm just curious, I'm currently 17years old and I'm wondering how long does it take to get "good" at piano?
I'm not really good at piano, yet I'm not someone that doesn't know how to play. I used to be home taught by my mom when I was really young but lost interest.

However, I want to learn how to play piano now, so I'm wondering how long it's going to take?

for example how long will it take for me to learn the basics and be able to play http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPvxAO5IPX0.

Big thanks to everyone.

coyfish
06-26-2010, 04:26 PM
Don't worry about how long it takes. That is not the right attitude. Just play to enjoy it and you will be more satisfied and progress faster. It just varies too much to tell. Depends on how much time you put in and your natural talent.

The basics of piano are simple and take no time at all to learn. You need to practice reading notes and eventually scales, chords, and keys.

6 months of good practice and you should be very happy. Don't think about it . . . just do it.

I have been playing for 6 years and one thing that I hated was chords and scales. Let me tell you learning those will make you a much better player in the long run.

Fifth Set
06-26-2010, 04:49 PM
Two things that can help are:

(1) some kind of regular commitment to the pursuit that is scheduled (this can be a class at a community college or a private lesson or some other activity, but the point is something that basically guarantees practice); and

(2) a nice instrument to use that will make practicing fun (look at an affordable used synthesizer like the Roland SH-201, which can help you learn not just "piano" but simultaneously becoming a multi-talented all-around musician).

Enjoy!

OKUSA
06-26-2010, 08:21 PM