PDA

View Full Version : Tennis Pros, let me vent...

tutennis
07-08-2010, 03:01 PM
Hello.
I've been a tennis pro for about 5 years now in three different cities. I was a d1 player and an assistant coach at a d1 school for another two. Don't get me wrong I love the game and helping people learn it. But seriously this has to be one of the worst jobs ever... and right now in this economy I'm happy just to have money but yeesh.

I work 6 sometimes 7 days a week from 9 am until 8 pm or later. My body is falling apart from all of the wear and tear and I'm not even 30 yet. I have constant no shows or cancellations and our head pro makes more on my private lessons than I do. Not to mention I'm a glorified babysitter some of the time trying to teach kids that clearly don't want to be there.

I don't have a uspta or ptr certification ( mostly because the majority of those that have those certifications can't teach or play a lick , yes this is a generalization) and I have to deal with these pompous people that think they know it all because the have a p1,2, or 3 by their name. Arghhh....

We won't even get into the mental drain or the fact that your game goes to hell..... ok that's all I feel better.

Is that what I should expect for the rest of my career or does it get better... I mean the head pros just want so much out of you and most of them get in at 10 and leave at 4. Does anyone else out there feel like this? Share any stories or experiences. Thanks.

Fifth Set
07-08-2010, 03:56 PM
Getting to know the pros at my club and taking lots of clinics/private lessons over the years, I have often wondered how hard it must be to actually be a young tennis pro. You answered the question well. Hard.