PDA

View Full Version : Help choosing my new racquet

Xx PGX!
07-12-2010, 05:57 PM
I've been playing for about 7 months now and I feel that I have improve a LOT in just the past 2 months. I play 4-5 times a week. I'm a all-round court player, prefer hitting hard from the baseline with lots of spin, descent slicing and like to approach the net when possible. Prefer sticks ranging from 11.0 - 12.0 oz in weight and 98-100 sq in head size (haven't tried any smaller and hate OS). I know most of you will say that I'll should start with with any cheap racquet and that it wouldn't make any difference. But, I know and (feel) that I'm improving very fast on my technique and wont mind spending $200 on a racquet.

Racquets that I've demoed:

Babolat Aeropro drive GT
Head Youtek Prestige MP
Babolat Pure Drive GT
k Blade 98
Head Youtek Extreme MP
BLX Pro Open
Dunlop Aerogel 4D 300
Wilson BLX Six One Tour

The ones I liked the most (From most liked to least):

K Blade 98
Babolat Aeropro Drive GT
Dunlop Aerogel 4D 300

Any more suggestions and/or narrowing of my list of "most liked racquets" would be appreciated. Thanks :)

TennisCJC
07-12-2010, 06:57 PM
The 3 you liked the most are all good. The Dunlop is a little light and you could get more power and stability with a little lead tape. I have demo-ed Boris Becker rackets in the past and liked them. You may want to try the new BB Delta Core London and BB Delta Core Pro. Both of these have specs in your range. Also, the Volkl PB Mid+ (or light version of same racket) might be worth a demo. I demo the heavier Volkl and almost bought - very nice racket.

Agent Orynge
07-12-2010, 10:59 PM
I feel that descent slicing is the best way to go, since an ascending ball is certainly going to fly long.