PDA

View Full Version : Pure Drive Cortex Head Size

LetsGoRoddick
07-14-2010, 12:05 AM
Hey, kinda a beginner here(streaky playing, maybe 2 months, then 3 month break, now back for a month).

So my basic style of play is to put in a nice big flat serve that sets up my forehand. I feel good enough to control the points somewhat with decent placement(not pace) also, to set up an oppurtunity for a big forehand(flat). I feel like I can pass players at the net pretty ok at times too.

My coach/instructor puts me at about 3.0(maybe 3.5 not sure), and I've been using a prince pro ti-200 for almost all of my playing time so far. It's an oversize racquet, 107in. Before that I used some crappy old dunlop which was absolutely terrible(falling apart pretty much).

I'm looking to change racquets, to find something that is more comfortable than the prince I'm using now. The handle is kind of large(I have big hands, 6 ft tall), and I struggle to generate topspin comfortably with the large handle/grip size. Basically, I'm used to the racquet grip size, but it's still not my thing.

So with the Pure Drive Cortex, I've done a bit of research and the playtesters felt that the Cortex offered some pretty decent control and was very comfortable, with an all around feel too it.

-What I'm wondering about is the racquet head size. Would it negatively affect my game to get a 100' size?

-Or would I be better off getting a 107' to ease the transition between racquets(maybe even a 110')?

-(noob questions), do the Babolat racquets come pre strung? If not, what do you think is a good string tension for my level(my prince racquet is strung at 55-65 lbs)? Do new babolats come with a case?

-Do you find smaller grip/handle sizes better?

Sorry for all the questions, but I appreciate the help. Thanks.