PDA

View Full Version : I am very confused =s

Xx PGX!
07-17-2010, 06:08 PM
ok so I played today for 5 hours straight and started hitting with a head youtek speed mp 16 x 19. everything was going ok, but as time passed most of my topspin forehands were way to deep and I just couldn't manage to keep'em on the court. So, I decided to switch to a Volkl Powerbridge 10 Light 18 x 20. I was astonished at how my game play improved immensely, my serves were lethal, my forehands right on the base line and I just felt more confident with my shots. My question is, Did my game play improved due to the weight of the racquet (Head yt speed mp = 11.8 oz , Volkl PB light = 10.9 oz) or the string pattern? I' am 19 years old so I can perfectly manage a heavy racquet but im so confused. I've been playing for only 7 months btw. Thx

1stVolley
07-17-2010, 06:15 PM
A lot of possible answers to this one. My guess is that you started to tire and were hitting a bit late, causing the balls to float somewhat and go long. Switching to the PB 10 light corrected your late swing because it was a lighter stick.

Xx PGX!
07-17-2010, 06:23 PM
A lot of possible answers to this one. My guess is that you started to tire and were hitting a bit late, causing the balls to float somewhat and go long. Switching to the PB 10 light corrected your late swing because it was a lighter stick.
I guess is very obvious what you wrote, but I feel perfectly fine playing with the Head YT Speed MP. Maybe I don't notice whether or not I feel tired with a certain stick since I played in harsh conditions here in Miami (Hot :evil:)

cmf
07-17-2010, 06:33 PM
The strings on the YT speed could have lost tension and played differently. Could have also been different strings just in general, or different tensions; which could allow for more control. And even if you can swing the heavier racquet you should still generate a faster swing speed with the lighter racquet which would impart more spin on the ball.