PDA

View Full Version : Should I add lead or install CAP grommets on Radical to reach desired weight?

Irakli
07-20-2010, 04:52 AM
This is my first post here so first of all Ė big hi to everyone.

So letís get down to the question:

I started playing tennis this year. First racquet I bought was Head Liquidmetal Radical MP. I had 10 grams of lead tape added in the handle and it was fine playing racquet. 2 month ago I bought Head Speed MP (18X20). I added 10 grams of lead tape in the handle again, and the racquet weight became 340 grams stung. Unfortunately I crashed the racquet several days ago when I smashed it into the fence after 2 hours of unfortunate play.

I ordered the Radical again, this time the Microgel version. The problem is, the stock one is really lightweight Ė itís only 310 grams strung and I need to make it heavier. My question is - Should I just add lead or install CAP grommets to reach desired weight? Lately, thereís been a lot of talk about capping the radicals, and many state that radicals become more stable and better in general (though some state the opposite - that cap grommets make racquets stiffer, etc). I also see many pros using radicals with cap grommets (Soderling, Murray, to name few).

So what would you guys at the board recommend Ė should I install the CAP grommets and then add some lead in the handle to counterbalance or just go only with lead tape?

Thanks in advance (and sorry for a long post).
Irakli

120mphBodyServe
07-20-2010, 04:59 AM
A lot of racquets should come with a warning or something...
LEAD NOT INCLUDED?
Just add lead. It's easier than squeezing in CAP grommets.

Irakli
07-20-2010, 05:20 AM
Thanks for the reply 120mph.