PDA

View Full Version : USTA Men's 4.0 League Nationals

XFactorer
08-10-2010, 01:01 PM
Anyone have any experience at League Nationals? My team just advanced from the Pacific Northwest Sectionals this weekend. This is my second year playing League so I have little experience. I win my matches, but is that enough to be successful at Nationals?

I have one singles loss all season. Undefeated in doubles with my awesome partner. I know for sure I'm gonna be bumped to 4.5 next year; so, I want to make the most of this opportunity to win Nationals. I'd love any advice/story/suggestion from any player who's played Nationals or even gotten to their own Sectionals.

Matt H.
08-10-2010, 01:20 PM
our club's 4.0 team went to nationals for 2006 when it was in Hawaii.

It's the best of the best. Ringers playing fellow ringers in some cases.

Enjoy! I wish i could have gone.

atatu
08-10-2010, 02:35 PM
Avoid going into it with the "just happy to be here" attitude or you'll leave feeling like you did not give it your best. On the other hand, if you lose the first couple of matches, don't get so upset that you don't take the time to enjoy the whole experience. I went back in 2002 and there were guys on my team at these two opposite extremes.

dizzlmcwizzl
08-10-2010, 06:14 PM
Congratulations ... we get to take our shot at nationals next weekend.

XFactorer
08-10-2010, 06:34 PM

Sweet! Which section are you gonna represent?

Right now I'm in the mindset of "I'm happy to get there!" Just like I was happy to make it to regionals. And sectionals. I must say, though, I played out of my mind on day 2 of the event where I hit a few shots that left my partner and my two opponents' mouths gaped open. Hopefully I can hit a few more of those at Nationals.