PDA

View Full Version : Opinions about string job.

Bagel Boy
08-13-2010, 05:51 PM
Hello!

I am new to tennis, and have been using the same racket for 2 summers.

This summer I broke my strings and asked a guy that gives lessons (and plays for a U) at the court I play at, if he could re string it for me.

I just got it back from him an hour ago and have not hit with it, but I'm a little confused as to why the strings look out of place.

Hopefully you can see somewhat from the pictures ( I can post better ones), but I thought they would all be straight, instead it looks like all the cross strings are "dipping" like a smiley face. Also, the seem to move easily while the main seem tighter.

Any chance he hit with it after and that's the reason? And if so, would have they moved as much?

Thanks in advance for thoughts.

http://tinypic.com/r/2igeyxx/4

http://tinypic.com/r/2rdxen6/4

Kevo
08-13-2010, 06:12 PM
The smiley thing happens as a consequence of the way a racquet is strung. More professional stringers straighten the strings before they give the racquet back to the customer. This doesn't necessarily indicate that anything is wrong with the string job. It doesn't inspire full confidence in the stringer either.

LeftiesAreAllRight
08-13-2010, 06:15 PM
Looks to me that the stringer was lazy and didn't bother straightening out the crosses after he was done with the racquet.

But that is less of an issue than what looks to me like a mis-weave in the top two crosses. The picture quality is pretty poor or they are out of focus, but it appears that in a couple of places, the top two strings both cross over or under the same main. If it is not a mis-weave, then I just need to get my eyes checked.