PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone explain this DQ?


Cindysphinx
08-20-2010, 05:35 PM
The guy in question self-rated as a 3.5 in 2009. Played many matches in 2009 in 7.0 and 8.0 mixed; never played spring adult season.

Computer moved him up for 2010 to 4.0. He then played two matches in the winter mixed season, both with computer-rated 3.5 partners. The computer DQ'd him and moved him to 4.5.

I cannot figure this out. Since he played with 3.5 partners, he was OK to play 8.0 mixed with these 3.5 partners even if he had been a 4.5 all along. So why would he be DQ'd?

Steady Eddy
08-20-2010, 05:40 PM
How can we know from what you've told us? (How come the board's been so boring all summer?)

Cindysphinx
08-20-2010, 07:41 PM
How can we know from what you've told us? (How come the board's been so boring all summer?)

What information is missing?

The guy played two 8.0 matches with 3.5 women. If he's a 4.5, then he's playing at the right level. Had his partners been 4.0 women, then of course the bump to 4.5 ought to result in a DQ and forfeit.

Steady Eddy
08-20-2010, 08:11 PM
I just mean to say that I don't get it. :confused:

OrangePower
08-21-2010, 10:00 AM
Perhaps he was not DQd by the computer but rather as the result of a complaint investigation. Seems like 2 matches is too soon for a DNTRP based DQ.

Maybe he deliberately lied on his original self rate and was not initially caught. But when this was now discovered, his 2010 mixed results were forfeited as a punitive measure.

Cindysphinx
08-21-2010, 06:05 PM
OrangePower, that's the only explanation I can think of also.

amarone
08-21-2010, 07:50 PM
What did it say in the letter he should have got telling him he was DQed? I believe that distinguishes between a dynamic DQ and a self-rate grievance DQ.

Cindysphinx
08-21-2010, 08:29 PM
I don't know. I've never met the guy. Someone suggested that he join a team I am not captaining, so I don't think I will ever know.

catfish
08-22-2010, 05:27 AM
Seems like the strangest ratings come from mixed doubles matches. I don't know why, but maybe rating calculations from mixed only compare men to male opponents and women to female opponents. So maybe the 4.0 guy happened to play several 4.5 men at in mixed doubles, and the computer considered him competitive with 4.5 men. I have seen some strange DQ's, bump-ups and bump-downs based on mixed only league play. The computer must only compare you to same sex opponents, and if they are a higher or lower level you may be moved up or down. Thats all I can figure out.

amarone
08-22-2010, 05:43 AM
The issue Cindy is asking about is not why he got bumped to 4.5, but why he was DQed from 8.0 mixed when a 4.5 is allowed to play with a 3.5.

catfish
08-22-2010, 05:54 AM
The issue Cindy is asking about is not why he got bumped to 4.5, but why he was DQed from 8.0 mixed when a 4.5 is allowed to play with a 3.5.

My comment really applied to rating calculations in general, and could explain a DQ or a bump-up. He was not DQ'd from playing mixed, he was DQ'd and moved from 4.0 to 4.5. So he can still play 8.0 mixed with a 3.5 partner. And my comment is just a guess. I don't have any inside info on ratings and how they are calculated. I made an educated guess on why people get DQ'd & bumped up or down based on mixed only league play.

amarone
08-22-2010, 06:15 AM
He was not DQ'd from playing mixed.
Maybe Cindy can clarify, but it looks to me as if she is saying that he was DQed from playing 8.0 mixed.
The computer DQ'd him and moved him to 4.5.

I cannot figure this out. Since he played with 3.5 partners, he was OK to play 8.0 mixed with these 3.5 partners even if he had been a 4.5 all along. So why would he be DQ'd?

Just moving him 4.0 to 4.5 would be a bump-up, not a DQ.

Cindysphinx
08-22-2010, 07:12 AM
Yes, he was DQ'd on his 8.0 mixed team, when both of his partners were computer-rated 3.5s at the time. That's why it's so weird.

I know both 3.5 ladies, and both would be on the low-mid range of 3.5, FWIW.

If he was DQ'd for a self-rate grievance, why weren't his 2009 results affected? There would be no need to reverse all of the outcomes, of course. But there should be a (DQ) next to his name for all of those matches, right?

amarone
08-22-2010, 07:53 AM
If he was DQ'd for a self-rate grievance, why weren't his 2009 results affected? There would be no need to reverse all of the outcomes, of course. But there should be a (DQ) next to his name for all of those matches, right?
2009 is history. DQs only affect the current championship year, I believe.

vagabondma
08-25-2010, 06:08 AM
The guy in question self-rated as a 3.5 in 2009. Played many matches in 2009 in 7.0 and 8.0 mixed; never played spring adult season.

Computer moved him up for 2010 to 4.0. He then played two matches in the winter mixed season, both with computer-rated 3.5 partners. The computer DQ'd him and moved him to 4.5.

I cannot figure this out. Since he played with 3.5 partners, he was OK to play 8.0 mixed with these 3.5 partners even if he had been a 4.5 all along. So why would he be DQ'd?

There is another reason players get DQ'ed. An 8.0 team from our section went to nationals in 2009. They then signed up for an 8.0 team in winter of 2010. According to the rules, teams that go to nationals must move-up or split-up. The split-up rule means that no more than three players can still play together at that level.

About mid-way through the season, one of the league coordinators noticed that this 8.0 team had four people signed up from the previous 8.0 team. So the last person added was DQ'ed. Nothing to do with wins, ratings, etc. The two matches he played in were hence DQ'ed as well.

decades
08-25-2010, 06:17 AM
the computer noticed that he was playing matches above his self rate and officially rated him there. he probably won the matches, correct?

rainman007
08-25-2010, 08:01 AM
Did it reverse his scores or just say DQ by his name?? If it didn't reverse his scores i'd say he could keep playing..

amarone
08-26-2010, 03:45 AM
the computer noticed that he was playing matches above his self rate and officially rated him there.
This does not happen. At least, not just because of playing at a higher level. Doing well against higher-level opponents would increase his dynamic rating, though.

And again, the point is not that he was rated 4.5 but that he was not allowed to play 8.0 with a 3.5 partner. 4.5 + 3.5 = 8.0, so why was he DQed from 8.0 mixed?

amarone
08-26-2010, 03:45 AM
Did it reverse his scores or just say DQ by his name?? If it didn't reverse his scores i'd say he could keep playing..
Not correct. If it says DQ you cannot play at that level any more.

catfish
08-26-2010, 04:07 AM
This does not happen. At least, not just because of playing at a higher level. Doing well against higher-level opponents would increase his dynamic rating, though.

And again, the point is not that he was rated 4.5 but that he was not allowed to play 8.0 with a 3.5 partner. 4.5 + 3.5 = 8.0, so why was he DQed from 8.0 mixed?

I don't understand this either. I'm wondering if the local league suspended him for some other reason, but players were calling it a DQ? A rating DQ is done by the computer, and a Sectional Rep would notify the player.

Cindysphinx
08-26-2010, 05:00 AM
There is another reason players get DQ'ed. An 8.0 team from our section went to nationals in 2009. They then signed up for an 8.0 team in winter of 2010. According to the rules, teams that go to nationals must move-up or split-up. The split-up rule means that no more than three players can still play together at that level.

About mid-way through the season, one of the league coordinators noticed that this 8.0 team had four people signed up from the previous 8.0 team. So the last person added was DQ'ed. Nothing to do with wins, ratings, etc. The two matches he played in were hence DQ'ed as well.

AHA!! That has to be it!!!

He went to nationals in 2009 on an 8.0 mixed team, winning all of his matches. I'll bet the problem was exactly what you say, vagabondma.

Nice work.

http://communities.vmware.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-1505404-9025/congratulations.jpg

catfish
08-26-2010, 05:07 AM
AHA!! That has to be it!!!

He went to nationals in 2009 on an 8.0 mixed team, winning all of his matches. I'll bet the problem was exactly what you say, vagabondma.

Nice work.



It makes sense now. The National split up rule is something that TennisLink wouldn't catch. Another captain must have caught it and notified the local coordinator. This guy must have been registered in Tennislink after 3 others from his previous team.

Cindysphinx
08-26-2010, 05:16 AM
Yeah, I see it now. He registered after his two co-captains from the 2009 team and after his partner from that team.

The moral of this story is that you should register the instant your captain gives you the team code!