PDA

View Full Version : Rules, Regulations and Requirements That People Have Totally Made Up


Cindysphinx
08-27-2010, 04:58 AM
Ever played a match where a player swore up and down that a certain rule existed when it doesn't?

One of my players once played a match where an opponent was utterly convinced that if you toss the ball and catch it with your racket before it bounces, that is a fault.

I also had a lady go to the mat on the idea that you do not change sides after the first game in a set. It seems that one of the league coordinators had sent out an e-mail reminding everyone of the continuous play rule. Since this lady now understood that play must be continuous and you don't sit and drink after the first game, to her that meant you don't switch after the first game.

I had my rules with me, but I simply couldn't find the right provision in the heat of the moment to show her, and I didn't want to spend a lot of time on it because we play timed matches. So I wound up serving first on one end and then serving the rest of the time from the other end. Because I knew she was completely and totally wrong, it bugged me the whole match.

Steady Eddy
08-27-2010, 06:00 AM
That's not just true in tennis, people do that all the time. The person who is loudest and most emphatic isn't always right. Maybe it would help if people would state where they got their information. Something like; "A friend of mine who is a lawyer told me...", instead of shouting everyone down. Then what do they do when they find out they're wrong? They just shrug and say something like, "Oh well, I thought it was that other way." Don't they feel embarrassed? Wouldn't they feel the need to apologize? Wouldn't they learn from this and be more cautious in the future? Apparently not, a person I know who often does this like to joke that his motto is, "Often wrong, never in doubt"! :shock:

Since people do this everywhere, why should we be surprised that they do it in tennis matches also?

AR15
08-27-2010, 06:04 AM
No, but on multiple occasions, I've had opponents disagree with me about legitimate rules.

I carry the rules book in my bag. But every time I have offered to pull it out (to prove my correctness) the opponents have said not to bother.

spot
08-27-2010, 06:10 AM
The myth of the voice let. I have a few teammates who are convinced that there is such a thing as a "voice let" and have called it in a match. Just that if your opponent is taking during the point that they are allowed to call a "voice let" and play the point over.

mikeler
08-27-2010, 06:22 AM
I was playing a teaching pro in an NTRP tournament one time when he stretched me out wide to my forehand. I took a big chop at the ball and it bounced on his side while he was up at the net. He did not touch it and it bounced back over on my side. I claimed the point and he said the point was his because there was a "rule change". Luckily the tournament referee was standing right by our court and awarded me the point.

tennis tom
08-27-2010, 06:37 AM
No, but I was swimming in the pool at ye' ol' club one day, when some weirdo, who I hadn't seen before or since, insisted you're supposed to swim between the black lane lines and not above them. I think he was nut's.

Steady Eddy
08-27-2010, 07:15 AM
The myth of the voice let. I have a few teammates who are convinced that there is such a thing as a "voice let" and have called it in a match. Just that if your opponent is taking during the point that they are allowed to call a "voice let" and play the point over.Sounds like he was intentionally lying and thought he could get away with it because he's a teaching pro.

mikeler
08-27-2010, 09:02 AM
Sounds like he was intentionally lying and thought he could get away with it because he's a teaching pro.


Did you mean to quote me? If so, I would have to agree with you.

spot
08-27-2010, 09:38 AM
The idea that you can't cross the imaginary line extending from the net is a common rule myth.

Steady Eddy
08-27-2010, 10:07 AM
Did you mean to quote me? If so, I would have to agree with you.Oops. You're right. :oops:

At any rate, you agree with me.

Cindysphinx
08-27-2010, 11:03 AM
There are also people who insist on playing a "through" as a let rather than loss of point. With a "through" being when the ball goes under the net strap or through a hole in the net.

sureshs
08-27-2010, 01:16 PM
The idea that you can't cross the imaginary line extending from the net is a common rule myth.

You can only if the ball has sufficient underspin and has crossed over to the other side. Otherwise, no part of your body or racquet can cross the net while the ball is in play.

sureshs
08-27-2010, 01:17 PM
Well your racquet can cross the net, but your arm can't - you can't just reach all the way over there and make a shot, nor of course can you set foot upon your opponent's side, even if the ball sneaks around the net post.

Doesn't make sense. You can reach all the way there only with the racquet, so your first and second points are in contradiction.

InsideOutBackhand
08-27-2010, 05:17 PM
You can only if the ball has sufficient underspin and has crossed over to the other side. Otherwise, no part of your body or racquet can cross the net while the ball is in play.

That only applies to hitting the ball. You can cross the net anytime the ball is in play as long as neither you nor anything on your person touches the net or the opponent's court (does not include the area outside the lines), so long as you do not hinder your opponent.

Example: You retrieve a drop shot and your momentum makes you continue to the other side of the court around the net post. You do not immediately lose the point unless you make contact with either the net or "in" court on your opponent's side. Same applies to stopping just at the net and encroaching over the net to regain your balance.

But you would lose the point if you took any action to deliberately hinder your opponent.

tennis tom
08-27-2010, 06:11 PM
My understanding of the rule is you can't reach over the net to hit a ball, but your follow through can go over the net and I think that would include your racket and your arm. If I'm wrong on that, I'd be happy to be corrected.

Mike2228
08-27-2010, 06:27 PM
someone once told me that if you have balls in your pocket and they fall out during a point, the other team is awarded the point. I can see how it makes sense, but I'm not sure if its true.

woodrow1029
08-27-2010, 07:39 PM
Well your racquet can cross the net, but your arm can't - you can't just reach all the way over there and make a shot, nor of course can you set foot upon your opponent's side, even if the ball sneaks around the net post.
Don't you ever know all of the rules? This post of yours are exact type of made up rule that this thread is about.

woodrow1029
08-27-2010, 07:39 PM
someone once told me that if you have balls in your pocket and they fall out during a point, the other team is awarded the point. I can see how it makes sense, but I'm not sure if its true.
The first time it happens, it's a let. The second and each subsequent time, they lose the point.

athiker
08-27-2010, 09:26 PM
The first time it happens, it's a let. The second and each subsequent time, they lose the point.

I thought I read in the USTA magazine once that if a ball falls out of your pocket that you may not call a let as the hindrance was caused by you. Of course I also recently read that an opponent may require you to clear balls by the net on your side or anywhere on your side of the court if they find them distracting...so maybe this is what you mean? Ball falls out of your pocket during play and your opponent is the one that calls the let.

woodrow1029
08-27-2010, 09:57 PM
I thought I read in the USTA magazine once that if a ball falls out of your pocket that you may not call a let as the hindrance was caused by you. Of course I also recently read that an opponent may require you to clear balls by the net on your side or anywhere on your side of the court if they find them distracting...so maybe this is what you mean? Ball falls out of your pocket during play and your opponent is the one that calls the let.
Right. You can't call the let if the ball falls out of your own pocket. Your opponent or an official can. The first time it's a let, any subsequent times, its loss of point.

Larrysümmers
08-28-2010, 09:59 AM
hey where would a fellow as myself obtain this said handbook? i think it would come in handy!

woodrow1029
08-28-2010, 11:04 AM
USTA.com for the USTA Friend At Court. You can also obtain the rules of tennis at ITFTennis.com.

If you are not in the US, I am sure your national organization has a rulebook you can download as well.

Islandtennis
08-28-2010, 12:00 PM
Right. You can't call the let if the ball falls out of your own pocket. Your opponent or an official can. The first time it's a let, any subsequent times, its loss of point.


Woodrow, in an unofficiated match the opponent cannot claim the point can they?

Beacon Hill
08-29-2010, 07:29 PM
Woodrow, in an unofficiated match the opponent cannot claim the point can they?
Certainly they can. Why would your opponents not be allowed to call it? Players act as the officials in unofficiated matches.

jswinf
08-30-2010, 09:04 AM
^^^Maybe the point is that when 2 singles opponents (or 2 doubles pairs) disagree on a call or a rule and don't have an agreed-on authority (like an official) to make a final decision, how does either side get off "claiming" or "overruling" much of anything? Sure, it's nice when you're right that the other guy agrees with you, but if parties with an equal say disagree and there's too much claiming and overruling, you're asking for an "is too" "is not" "your mother wears army shoes" kind of a situation. We've just all gotta be reasonable people, and then there are some folks that have trouble finding someone to play with them. Of course in Arizona we have liberal gun laws. (Is that a contradiction in terms?)