PDA

View Full Version : Why do strings shear - my $0.02

Irvin
08-28-2010, 07:47 AM
I am no structional engineer but I do live close to Georgia Tech and Southern Tech. I always thought that shearing was an excuse for strings breaking but now I am starting to doubt that. I really thought that the reason that poly string shear more than any other string is because they were more brittle. Well now I think that more than ever.

No matter how much tension a string will hold it is no stronger than it weakest point. The weakest point is the point where it bends the sharpest.

As a string goes from one grommet to the next it usually bend at 90 degrees. When the knot bends at 90 degrees think about what happens to the string. The inside of the string is carrying no tension at all (there is a lot of pressure up against the grommet) while the outside of the string is being stretched around the radius of the bend. The sharper the radius the more tension is put on the outside of the string. It starts to shear from the outside in until it completely fails.

If there was someway to increase the radius it would stretch the string less. Power Pads may be just the ticket.

If there is anyone out there that has problems with strings shearing maybe you should try some power pads. Power pads have to increase the radius, and if they were good enough for Pete Sampras, Roger Federer, and other pros they should be good enough for you. They shouldn't cost you any more to have them installedin your racket so what have you got to lose? What is a power pad you ask, these things:

http://i422.photobucket.com/albums/pp304/Irvin44_2008/powerpad.png

I would be very interested if these power pads reduce shearing if you have a problem with shearing.

Irvin

jim e
08-28-2010, 03:26 PM
Hi Irvin:
Most of the shears that I have seen are typically located at the 2 and 4 oclock areas, and every so often at the 4 and 8 oclock areas also.