PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else having problems stringing the new Exo3's?

verbouge
08-30-2010, 11:06 PM
They have speedports, but that is not the issue. I actually kinda like stringing speedport sticks. The issue is the grommetted holes, especially at the beginning and the end of the crosses.

I spent at least 20 extra minutes stringing an Exo3 White this evening because I had so much trouble getting the crosses started and finished. The holes for these strings are incredibly small, and there's already a main blocking it, making it nearly impossible to pass the string.

Here's a solution for a problem that others of you may have had, too. I had a second brand new Exo3 White following the first one. I studied the holes that were the most difficult, and before the first string went in, I dilated them very thoroughly with an awl. The frame and the grommet were undamaged. After having done this, the second racquet was a piece of cake. Great investment of 5 minutes of time.

I've been seeing tons of these frames lately. From now on, all of them get "the treatment" before I string them.

Irvin
08-31-2010, 03:15 AM
I had a very small hole on a racket I strung recently. Look at about 2:20 in this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85aD5xHjjas

Irvin

JackB1
08-31-2010, 08:42 AM
They have speedports, but that is not the issue. I actually kinda like stringing speedport sticks. The issue is the grommetted holes, especially at the beginning and the end of the crosses.

I spent at least 20 extra minutes stringing an Exo3 White this evening because I had so much trouble getting the crosses started and finished. The holes for these strings are incredibly small, and there's already a main blocking it, making it nearly impossible to pass the string.