PDA

View Full Version : would like to hear your opinion on which tournament level i should play

masterxfob
09-02-2010, 09:33 PM
here's a little background. i started playing tennis around the age of 12 or 13 with my pops. i liked the sport, but never took it all that seriously, and ended up quitting after high school at around a 4.0 level.

fast forward about 10 years. i quit my day job and had a lot of free time on my hands, so i started up tennis again. for the last year and a half i have improved my game immensely and can hold my own against 5.5's. stamina is still an issue, but i can usually sustain a high level of performance for about 2 hours. my serve was the last thing to come, but now that it has, my confidence is through the roof.

it has been 12 years since i've last played competitively, and i'd like to start it up again. friends say i should play 5.5, but i'm not so sure. i have never played against 5.0+ players in a competitive setting and am a bit nervous. i also hear that cheating is pretty bad and that may also set me off. should i start playing at lower levels such as 4.5 and move up? or just jump into things at 5.5?

also, any suggestions on what to bring and how to warm-up for tournaments would be appreciated. are there practice courts where i can warm-up like the pros?

polski
09-03-2010, 04:19 AM
You should probably try to get some matches against people at all three levels (4.5, 5.0, 5.5). Holding your own is one thing, but being competitive is another. Play against a few 4.5's, then some 5.0's. Talk to someone at a local club about who their better players are & see if they can pass on your contact info.

I know you are in LA where there should be a lot of players available. In less populated areas, 4.5 is the top of the food chain. Before you go rating yourself a 5.5, make sure that leagues actually exist at that level if you want to play leagues.