PDA

View Full Version : Fixed vs. Flying Clamps

LanEvo
09-04-2010, 10:39 PM
hey guys,

Currently, I own a Gamma Progression 600 FC I, the red based model with fixed plastic clamps. Well, the plastic clamps are worn down and the strings slip with softer strings. So I am about to upgrade, should I stick with fixed clamps and just buy another set? Or should I go with flying clamps? I have never used flying before, and they look easier to use. Also, they are cheaper, metal fixed ones cost $99 ea., while flying ones are around $35 ea.

LanEvo
09-04-2010, 10:43 PM
I am thinking about the Klipper Flying Clamps.

Irvin
09-05-2010, 02:42 AM
Fixed clamps are more versatile and easier to use. You will run into a lot of things you can't do with flying clamps. Send Gamma Tech an email you may be able to buy new plastic parts for your clamps.

Irvin

LanEvo
09-05-2010, 09:47 AM
Fixed clamps are more versatile and easier to use. You will run into a lot of things you can't do with flying clamps. Send Gamma Tech an email you may be able to buy new plastic parts for your clamps.

Irvin

Ok thanks, I sent Bret an email.

mixedmedia
03-11-2012, 09:23 PM

Irvin

I know this is a bit of an old thread but I thought reviving it was better than starting a new one.

Irvin, what are some of the things one can't do with flying clamps? GG Tennis claims that the drawback and tension loss present when using fixed clamps is not there when using flying clamps, so that is the reason to use one over the other.

diredesire
03-11-2012, 11:40 PM
I know this is a bit of an old thread but I thought reviving it was better than starting a new one.

Irvin, what are some of the things one can't do with flying clamps? GG Tennis claims that the drawback and tension loss present when using fixed clamps is not there when using flying clamps, so that is the reason to use one over the other.