PDA

View Full Version : Barricade 6, Mi addidas experience

Tennis_Monk
09-08-2010, 09:17 AM
With great anticipation, i got a customized Mi addidas Barricade 6 (complete with my trade mark lettering and etc etc).

Until that point, i was using Babolat All court 4 (always a big fan of Babolats)

So far i used the shoe 3 times In last 3 months. First time i used , it felt great on court, felt it was a little roomy but nothing out of ordinary.

However the next day, i woke up with big swelling on my right ankle. After 2 days of Ibuprofen and following REST, i saw a doctor. Bloodtests, Xrays, MRI all came up negative and doctor put me on AntiInflammatories and antibiotics.

Basically i got sidelined for 4 weeks.

Finally after i felt i could run , i started playing again. First two days i played with babolats (no real reason other than that i want to use Barricades for match) and then on third day i played with Barricade 6. Felt great on court again.

Next day , it is my left leg with lots of swelling. Because of all the NSAID's i am already taking for right ankle, i knew what to do....went to doctors and after a few visits (xrays , bloodtests all showed negative) , doctors were almost contemplating Arthritis (Rhumatoid) or whatever. THis doctor was interviewing me in detail and eventually it occured to us that the common and NEW factor in both situations is the Shoe.

4 more weeks of rest and now i am back to playing tennis. Hesitant to use the Barricade's i stuck with Babolat for now.

My question to you guys is....
I have seen comments on Barricade6 from various users, who said Arch support is high, weight is high(16.7 ounces) , etc.
Does anyone else have similar experience? is there anything i can do with this shoe? -- it is not that i cant ditch this shoe , but i put some emotional currency into it by customizing it to the way i wanted it and also like how it played on the court.

====

Another piece of information::