PDA

View Full Version : "String Job"

verbouge
09-24-2010, 09:49 PM
Say, here's a thought. It's a little thing, but some of you may have thought of this, too: Is there any other phrase that can be popularized for putting in strings other than "string job"? It just sounds so pedestrian and unglamorous. I've been using the phrases "string installation" or "stringing" lately, when talking about or emailing about, well, string jobs. Again, just a thought.

Can we not do a better "job" at describing what we do?

Dave in Oregon

airman88
09-25-2010, 12:00 AM
Why not stringification?

verbouge
09-25-2010, 12:20 AM
Why not stringification?
That made me laugh! Either you are joking, or that is not quite it.

:-)

Radicalized
09-25-2010, 04:02 AM
I'm not a pro stringer, but I do string for myself and some others here and there. When they ask me to string, they'll always just say "restrung." I don't think I could change any of their terminologies. They know they can't do it or wouldn't want to try. Sometimes simplicity works. I had a friend who pumped gas in high school. On his resume, he wrote, "petroleum transfer engineer." I still laugh at that. What we really are is "racquet lacers and weavers." We have a pattern. We have a medium (string). We have a specified shape (the frame). We lace our mains and weave our crosses--not much different from a basket weaver really, if you've ever seen the process, in general terms, even with tying knots. It's one of those "behind the scenes" processes that magically happens for the racquet owner. They just want it done. I've never sensed a lack of "morale" among the stringers on this board. So, for the good of your idea, I've posted my selection. I'm not trying to rain on anyone's parade, but rather stating what I see.

Radicalized
09-25-2010, 04:25 AM