View Full Version : Default question
10-09-2010, 02:08 PM
Probably been asked before and I think I know the answer, but can a doubles team show up and play with just one player to avoid a default?
Along the same lines, if a partner gets hurt, but can remain on the court but not play, can the match continue?
10-09-2010, 04:01 PM
Answer to question #1 - No
Answer to question #2 - Yes, but the injured player still has to serve and return serve
10-09-2010, 04:06 PM
I asked this a little while ago...You could serve and play if your partner was at least on the court (I think the back fence would be fine). Of course you would lose every game except when you serve unless you play no-ad. When it is your injured partner's serve, under USTA rules you would get a warning, point penalty, then game penalty for delay of game. But then you'd have one more rotation to go through before forfeiting.
So you would have to default if you knew beforehand. If he got injured near the end of the match or he just needed to rest for a while and you were up a bunch you might be able to pull off a win.
vBulletin® v3.8.8, Copyright ©2000-2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.